Look Closely

I’m on spring break for the next two weeks, so obviously I am waking earlier than usual. This morning I decided to take a stroll around my property. It had rained in the early morning hours and the smell of wet earth and wild flowers was intoxicating. The pup was following me with his ball and dropped it in the wet grass. I bent to pick it up and toss it for him and noticed a ladybug on a blade of grass. It was so tiny, and had I not gotten down to pick up the ball I would have taken no notice. I took my camera and focused in on the little guy and snapped a picture. That’s when I noticed the tiny wildflowers growing all around me. They were so small, so insignificant, and when looking at them from a distance not so remarkable. Yet when I got closer and really looked earnestly I realized how beautiful, unique, and quite extraordinary they were.

I realized that I have a tendency to do that with folks. When I look at someone from a distance they blend in with the crowd and I miss the beautifulness, the uniqueness, the extraordinariness of whom they are. Sadly, it seems, we tend to lump people into groups: men, women, gay, straight, black, white, Christian, Jew, atheist, Muslim, republican, democrat, rich, poor, citizen, alien, refugee… I could go on for days. In doing so we see past the individual and lose sight of them – exceptional human beings deserving of love, respect, and acknowledgment.

There are 7.5 billion people on this planet . (Take a closer look at that number – 7,500,000,000. I was in a room with over 100 people this week and that seemed like a lot of folks.) So many of these people feel insignificant, and overlooked. Wouldn’t it be a wonderful world if we all resolved to connect with just one person each day and said, or did, something that made them feel appreciated. It would take so little time and effort and could make a world of difference.

This entry was posted in Reflections, Relationships and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

