Justified Anger

This is my fourth attempt at putting on paper what is worrying my heart and mind. I have written no less than six pages of rambling thoughts, and I still cannot accurately describe how and what I am feeling. All I know is that I am weary of the negativity, the anger, the hypocrisy, the fear, the finger-pointing, the generalizing, and the intolerance that is happening in our nation. I’m upset by the divide I see in my country, my state, my town, my family.

It is no surprise to anyone that I am not a Trump supporter and I have a difficult time understanding why folks voted for him, yet it is what I must do. I must try to understand my fellow human beings. It does not mean I have to subscribe to their way of thinking but if I do not try to understand them, and at least empathize with them then I am no better than the preconceived judgment I have of these people. I must forget what I think I know, put aside my biases, my prejudices, and my fears and look into their hearts and minds, listen to their stories, and try to understand where they are coming from, and I would hope that those folks would do the same for me.

Listen, I get that half of us are unhappy with the outcome of the election. We feel justified in our anger, our hatred, and our disgust of our president-elect. We watch his supporters on social media, and on the news and we are frustrated and angry by the behavior, by the ignorance we see. Those who are content with the outcome are angry, frustrated, and disgusted towards the “crybabies” and feel justified as well. But make no mistake, when the Media creates a story they don’t show us reason, logic, or objectivity. They promote what will be most profitable. They promote the worst that is America and We The People allow them this power. We watch the bias, the fragmented reporting, the half-truths, we share and promote it, and we swallow it whole because it suits our purpose, it suits our cause.

I realize that there are racists, I know there are mysogynists , I know there are folks who promote hatred, but those folks are not limited to a certain, specific group of individuals. When We the People make blanket statements we are the very people supporting and promoting ignorance, hate, intolerance and war. This I know…I do not wish to be judged, or measured, or defined by the actions of women, by the actions of mothers, the actions of teachers, or heterosexuals, or anyone or anything other than who I solely am.

Please don’t misunderstand. I am not suggesting that we forget the injustices or that we give up our passion for a better nation. I am not suggesting that we must lay down our differences, join hands, sing a resounding chorus of Kum ba Yah, and pretend that all is well with our soul… not at all. I am suggesting that we address our fears, that we embrace our passion, that we strive for a better world, but without the vitriol, without the anger, without the hatred. “Anger is not your weapon, it is your enemy.” (Steven Garnaas-Holmes)

I do not recall a time when anger or hatred has ever made a positive influence in my life, and so I must move forward forgetting what I think I know, and remembering …“Darkness cannot drive out darkness: only light can do that. Hate cannot drive out hate: only love can do that.” (Martin Luther King, Jr.)

This entry was posted in Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

