Just Curious

My friend John recently mentioned that some folks thought he was gay because of his stand on marriage equality.  Lately I have had that same reaction from people.  A few friends have messaged me on Facebook asking me about my sexual preference.  “Are you a lesbian, or straight, or are you bisexual?  I know that this question doesn’t come from malice or prejudice but from a place of curiosity.  I don’t know if by categorizing,  it helps them define me better, or if it allows them that, ‘oh-now-it-makes-sense’ understanding; but whatever it may be, that question always leaves me wondering…. Why?    

Would I have different political views, religious views, or social views?  Would my exercising habits, eating habits, or goals be different if I preferred one specific sex over the other?  Would I still  hate war? Would I still want all human beings, all groups, all individuals to share the same basic human rights, human wants, human needs?  Would I still want to teach children to coexist?  Would I have still taught my daughters to be tolerant of others views, ideas, philosophies?  Would my dogs still love me, my cats ignore me?  Would I still enjoy singing in the choir?  Would I still listen to the blues, or jazz, or rock music?  Would Copeland still move me? Would I still want to dance or walk along the ocean’s edge? Would I still love my daughters, my siblings, my parents, my nana, my friends.  Would I enjoy the night when the stars fill up the sky? Would I still be me?

I appreciate those folks who care about me and want to get to know me better.  But I cannot help but wonder if, and why, my sexual preference  would really be the defining factor in who I am.  I, like my friend John, don’t mind being asked if I am gay or straight.  I am not concerned about whom people love… as long as they are happy,  if they  are content.

Maybe then, that should be our  question.  Are you happy?

This entry was posted in Reflections, Relationships and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Just Curious

  1. Jim Robertson says:

    Thoughtfully stated. No defensiveness detected. Very gracious meditation leading to the real issue.
    Jim

    Like

Leave a Reply

