Another Holiday Letter

“Life is what you make of it. Always has been, always will be.” Eleanor Roosevelt

I’ve written and deleted the beginnings of this holiday letter at least 4 times now. Darn thing is just not coming together. I’m not sure if it’s my mood or the year but I can’t seem to come up with anything newsworthy. Not a remarkable year… my eldest kid didn’t cure cancer, my youngest kid didn’t wow the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences, I didn’t convert any convicts or build shelters for the homeless in Malibu. It was a year full of normalcy… sometimes tedious, sometimes tough, sometimes terrific… just another year and I’m thankful to have lived it. Yet I long for something more. More what I am not certain, just more. I think that the long drawn out 5½ year separation has a lot to do with this mood. I am tired of living in the present and want to start looking forward… moving onward, upward. Maybe it is just a new stage in my development… ready to begin a new chapter but not quite done with the last. My daughters worry that this is more appropriate for a blog than a Christmas letter… not cheerful enough, but it is real, it is life. I am not complaining or depressed about the year, just being truthful.

What I do know:

Time spent with my daughters is a true blessing and watching them grow into the incredible young women they are makes me proud… prouder than anything I have done, prouder than anything I have accomplished… my daughters are absolutely amazing and are my greatest treasures.

Something that has given me perspective is the ability to do something for a greater cause… working the Susan G. Komen / 3 Day For The Cure this year reminded me that we are not alone on this planet and caring for, loving, and aiding our fellow human beings is what life is truly about, what gives life meaning.

And finally, “We cannot have world peace without peace in our own lives. We cannot attack our planet by the way we live, and then go off to a peace rally and hope to set right all the imbalance we have caused. Peace is first a private matter. It cannot grow except from there.” ~Doris “Granny D” Haddock

Peace on Earth, Goodwill to ALL.

This entry was posted in Reflections. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

